GAAMAC Events My GAAMAC

Online series: Decoding Hate Speech

The Montreal Institute for Genocide and Human Rights Studies (MIGS) and Global Action Against Mass Atrocity Crimes (GAAMAC) are organizing "Deconding Hate Speech", a series of four high-level online conversations bringing together leading voices to discuss the linkages between hate speech, technology and atrocity prevention.

The series aims to increase the understanding of and raise awareness about online hate speech within the atrocity prevention community and beyond in the lead up to GAAMAC IV, a global meeting taking place in November 2021 which will address hate speech, incitement and discrimination.

1 - Hate speech: an overview

Tuesday 1 September 2020 - 09.00 am EST - 15.00 CET | Online

This first panel will set the stage for and aim to reach a common understanding of the concept of "hate speech". It will give participants a solid overview and contextualize the following participatory discussions. More information and registration here. 

2 - Technology and hate speech: foe or friend?

Thursday 8 October 2020 - 9.00am EST - 16.00 CET | Online

The second session of the “Decoding Hate Speech” series will address the complexity of this social media phenomenon with an informed and multi-partied approach to prevent the harmful effects of Big Tech on human rights, and develop strategies to make technologies work for the benefit of our societies. More information and registration here. 

3 - Case study: the use of social platforms in Myanmar

Thursday 12 November 2020 - 9.00am EST - 16.00 CET | Online

4 - What can GAAMAC do?

Tuesday 8 December 2020 - 9.00am EST - 16.00 CET | Online