13 EU members issue joint statement over rule of law during COVID-19

2 April 2020
Thirteen EU members including GAAMAC Steering Group member Denmark and GAAMAC partner the Netherlands have expressed deep concern about “the risk of violations of the principles of rule of law, democracy and fundamental rights arising from the adoption of certain emergency measures”.

While recognizing the need to adopt extraordinary measures to protect citizens during the current public health crisis, they emphasized that these measures should be “limited to what is strictly necessary, should be proportionate and temporary in nature, subject to regular scrutiny, and respect the aforementioned principles and international law obligations.”.

“They should not restrict the freedom of expression or the freedom of the press,” the joint statement said.

“We therefore support the European Commission initiative to monitor the application of emergency measures to ensure the fundamental values of the Union are upheld,” they concluded.

Read the full statement here.

Make sure you do not miss any updates! Sign up to our bimonthly newsletter.

Recent posts